simple network functions

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/simple network functions

Bremer(Posted 2008) [#1]
I have no experience with network code at all, and I am looking for some library or other that would enable me to add network communication between a server and perhaps up to 10 clients.

Its for a turn based game, where the server will do some calculations based on dice rolling and then tell the client the outcome. The client informs the server about what the user is doing.

I do not think, that it will envolve a lot of traffic, but since I have no knowledge about how networking works, I am hoping that someone can offer some advise and point me in the right direction towards something that is easy to implement and will not require prior knowledge other than knowing how to code generally.

I am fairly knowledgeable when it comes to bmax, I just have not touched anything to do with networking.

DrDaxxy(Posted 2008) [#2]
Maybe this could help you:
http://blitzmax.com/codearcs/codearcs.php?cat=4&order=&asc=&lang_id=2

Retimer(Posted 2008) [#3]

Its for a turn based game

I suggest blitzmax socket streams then. They are very easy to use, and is perfect for use in turn-based games, however, not with mmo or fps.

Bremer(Posted 2008) [#4]
I don't really know what I am doing with this network stuff.

Here is what I have so far, but its not really working, and I am a bit clueless as to what I am doing wrong.

TYPES:
Type TServer

Field socket:TSocket
	Field port:Int

Function Create:TServer(port:Int)
		Local server:TServer = New TServer
		server.socket = CreateTCPSocket()
		' check to see if a socket was created, and if not return null otherwise return server
		If Not BindSocket(server.socket, port) Or Not SocketListen(server.socket) Then
			CloseSocket(server.socket)
			Return Null
		End If
		server.port = port
		Return server
	End Function

Method close()
		CloseSocket(socket)
	End Method

Method accept:String()
		Local message:String = ""