C64 game conversion

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/C64 game conversion

SausageOfDoom(Posted 2007) [#1]
Hiya guys,

I am new to all this BlitzMax malarky, even though I joined the forums a few years ago.

Basically, I joined after I did some resource graphics for the old Blitz (sprites, tiles etc that came with the installation and some mock screens for the back of the box). I installed the old Blitz, but never got round to doing anything with it due to work and lack of time.

Anyway, a few years later, I now have the urge to pull my finger out and get into BlitzMax programming and am dedicated to getting at least one game done in 2008.

So, what am I asking?

Well, I'm after advice. I did a very simple game on the Commodore C64 years ago that was released by Double Density. If I were to do a BlitzMax remake, what are the connotations of that?

Double Density owned the copyright, but I suspect Double Density are long gone. So, would there be any problems if I were to remake the game and release it? I, after all, did write the original game.

Just wondered if u guys (and gals??) could offer any guidance.

I imagine it'll take me a while to get to grips with BlitzMax as I'm not a programmer, I'm an artist. I just used to dabble with 6502 back in the day. I haven't really programmed at all since then and am finding it all a little daunting to be honest.

Well, if anyone can advise me on the issues that might be involved with remaking my own c64 game with BMax, that would be great.

Cheers mi dears :)

Dreamora(Posted 2007) [#2]
Depends on if someone actually bought double density back then. because if so, then someone owns the rights now.

if you do not sell it thought, it shouldn't be a problem.

SausageOfDoom(Posted 2007) [#3]
I can't find any info on Double Density, but it looks like they haven't released anything for about 15 years.

Does anyone know what became of Double Density?

TaskMaster(Posted 2007) [#4]
So, which game did you make?