What happened to 'Data'?... =S

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/What happened to 'Data'?... =S

spraycanmansam(Posted 2007) [#1]
Hi guys, I'm new to the BlitzMax scene. I was using an old copy of BlitzBasic from a magazine, and recently bought BlitzMax =D.

I am busy making an asteroids style game and I really need a substitute for the 'data' command ( i think thats what it was called? ).

It's so I can make pre-written levels. How I would have done it in BB is create a data file like so:

.level1
Data 2
Data 1, 50, 50
Data 4, 45, 35

where '.level1' is the level, data 2 is how many objects there are in the list, 1 is the type of asteroid, 50 is the starting x position on the screen, etc..

Then in a function called say newlevel() i would have restored and read the values and ran a for loop for the amount of objects...

I hope you're still with me.. =P My question is how can I emulate this in Blitzmax? The only way I can think of is to read the values from a text file, but I'm unsure of how to do that? Or there may be a function in BMax that I'm not aware of?

Your help is much appreciated!

Cheers,
Sam

Dreamora(Posted 2007) [#2]
DefData and the like you mean? :)

tonyg(Posted 2007) [#3]
Look at 'Defdata'

Yan(Posted 2007) [#4]
http://www.blitzbasic.com/Community/posts.php?topic=41179

spraycanmansam(Posted 2007) [#5]
Thank you very much! Just what I needed. EDIT: fixed my problem, check out the code below and tell me if its the right way to do it?

spraycanmansam(Posted 2007) [#6]
Ok, so after some fiddling I got this to work (it draws '2' little squares at the specified 'x' and 'y' coords ) ---

Graphics 800, 600, 0;

Type block

Field x, y;
Global list:TList;

Function createblock( x, y )

If Not list list = CreateList();
b:block = New block
list.addlast( b );

b.x = x;
b.y = y;

End Function

End Type

RestoreData level1
ReadData num;

For x = 1 To num

ReadData xpos;
ReadData ypos;

block.createblock( xpos, ypos );

Next

While Not KeyHit(key_escape)