Which blitz product is best for me?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Which blitz product is best for me?

DCI(Posted 2007) [#1]
I bought ALL of the main blitz programs, blitz3d, blitzplus and blitzmax.. Im trying to learn to program.. but.. i dont know which of these i should begin my adventure in.. 14 years ago, i was a pro with Basica, but, its been a while :) WHat are the pros and cons, of each of the 3 products? which one should i begin learning, and taking to heart? I've been told there are gigantic differences in the programs.. please.. which would be the right one for me, and why?

FlameDuck(Posted 2007) [#2]
BlitzMAX. Because it's object oriented, which makes programs easier to visualize. It also has the most (that is more than 1) built-in data structures, and the flexibility to allow you to chose how to use them, rather than have them thrust upon you.

Also if there's something you don't understand how it works, and that you find is poorly documented, you have access to the full source code, allowing you to look it up.

Whoever told you there were gigantic differences is bending the truth a little, and/or doesn't properly understand one language or the other.

Abrexxes(Posted 2007) [#3]
http://www.blitzbasic.com/Community/posts.php?topic=73333
http://www.blitzbasic.com/Community/posts.php?topic=73332

The best product for you is a tutorial how to post in a forum. 2 triple cross posting in 5 minutes is not funny.

bye

H&K(Posted 2007) [#4]
Let me guess, did the Bmax forum say Bmax, the BPlus forum say B+ and the B3D forum say b3d
1) Dont triple post
2) Dont post at all when you could use search instead. (This is more about the database question)

Dreamora(Posted 2007) [#5]
Don't post at all, if all 3 have trial versions you could test.

If you have no idea what you want, how shall we have.

Brucey(Posted 2007) [#6]
BlitzMax is also cross platform, which is a plus point for some people.

FlameDuck(Posted 2007) [#7]