Frameworks for BlitzMax?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Frameworks for BlitzMax?

Redspark(Posted 2007) [#1]
Hi.

I'm new to the world of Blitz game development. I'm looking for a framework that would be suitable to making a simple RPG game. I've run across Grey Alien but I'd like to know if there are any other production level frameworks out there for comparison or if there are any genre specific expansions for the Grey Alien Framework.

Thanks.

James

Grey Alien(Posted 2007) [#2]
I'm afraid that I don't have any genre specifc expansions for my framework. I'd love to make a platform one though (and maybe an RPG one), but that's far away at the moment.

MGE has a framework that seems pretty good, but again no genre expansions that I know of.

Don't think there are any others, but I could be wrong.

Sswift has some good modules but again no genre things.

What would be nice with such an expansion would be editors of course, LOTS of editors so that you hardly even need to code :-)

Redspark(Posted 2007) [#3]
*nod* Thanks. I just sent you an e-mail with a quick question about your framework.

Well, I don't mind non-genre specific -- it would be nice to have but not necessary if the building blocks are there. Just wishful thinking. :)

MGE(Posted 2007) [#4]
If I was diving into making an RPG, I would 100% use one of the commercial toolkits available. Search on "RPG Maker" or similar phrase in Google, etc. Creating an RPG engine from scratch is no small task, regardless of coding experience. Just my 2bits.... ;)

Apollonius(Posted 2007) [#5]
MGE's right, it's not easy. I'm developing one very very slowly for my own use and my own future first game serie... and with my monkey coding skills(crappy skills) it will take awhile but it's my dream so all my energy goes to it. N I AINT GIVING UP! :D

H&K(Posted 2007) [#6]
I would be tempted, if makeing a RPG, to make it in NWN toolkit. And MOD NWN to whatever new rule set I wanted.