type pointer workaround?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/type pointer workaround?

kimgar(Posted 2007) [#1]
hi,

i'm trying to implement ageia physX in my application using blitzmax/irrlicht/rubux. the first test are working very well, but i am pretty new to blitzmax and i am stuck now at some casting problem(i think) regarding setting a userdata struct to a physX body.
the code i'm trying to get to work:
Type TPXData
    Field data1:Int = 123
    Field data2:Int = 456
End Type
Local data:TPXData = New TPXData
pxBodySetBodyUserData(pxBody, data)

the problem is that
pxBodySetBodyUserData(pxBody, data)

expects data to be an int, so i thought i'd make an int pointer to my data type and pass that, but apparently such code does no longer work in the later versions of blitzMax.

i realize that the type pointer issue has been discussed before, and i am sorry to bring this up again, but i have failed to find a solution for my case in earlier posts, so i was hoping that someone could help me shed some light on this issue, maybe a workaround or some clever way to pull this off...

for what its worth, this is the code from physX sdk that i am trying to achieve in blitzmax:
struct MyData
{
    int shapeColor;
    bool dangerous;
};

NxShape * myShape = ...;
MyData * data = new MyData;
data->shapeColor = 3;
data->dangerous = true;

myShape->userData = data;

//then you can define:
bool isShapeDangerous(NxShape & s)
{
    return ((MyData *)s.userData)->dangerous;
}

Dreamora(Posted 2007) [#2]
handlefromobject
handletoobject

but be aware that those commands will have a serious performance impact.

you better find a way around that casting by storing the handle in the entity class you are using instead of dynamic casting it!

kimgar(Posted 2007) [#3]
ah great! thanks! i had a look in the docs for handlefromobject, and that sounds like just the thing i am looking for, but of course:

those commands will have a serious performance impact.