Greatest BlitzMax tips

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Greatest BlitzMax tips

MrPhil(Posted 2007) [#1]
Hi everyone. I'm new to BlitzMax and the community but I'm quickly become a big fan. I just learned about the SuperStrick command and it got me wondering what other tips I'm missing out on. Tell me what you've got!

GfK(Posted 2007) [#2]
Don't use the default IDE. Other options are available.

H&K(Posted 2007) [#3]
Dont Make everything an Object. Sometimes its overkill

deps(Posted 2007) [#4]
Type foo
    global list:tlist = createlist()

' ... other stuff

Function draw_all()
      for local f:foo = eachin list
        f.draw()
      next
    EndFunction

method new()
      list.addlast( self )
    endmethod

EndType

' .... game init
local bar:foo = new foo ' automatically added to the list

' ... Inside main loop
foo.draw_all() ' This will draw all foo's in the list

No need to call foo.init() or something, the list is created when the application/game starts.

I usually have one function for drawing stuff and another for updating logic. Always separate drawing and logic.

Everything written from memory while it's way past bedtime and I'm having a cold. So this might contains buggs and typos.

See the tutorials by Wave for some excellent stuff.

MrPhil(Posted 2007) [#5]
Alright! Thanks guys!

GFK: I looked at Blide but felt like it was over kill. What else is out there that I missed?

H&K: You mean Type right?

deps: Sweet! This I'll have to play with. I already run into some problems with trying to do this via a Create Method.

Keep them coming!

H&K(Posted 2007) [#6]
Err, no not really. There is sort of a difference between a Traditional "Type" and on OOP object/Type.

A Type (In general), is just a group of variables that belong together, this is nearly always a good thing. However for this group of variables to be an "Object" nearly (if not all) of the functions that use these varables need too be part of this "Type".