Mac ini file being ignore yet data saved!?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Mac ini file being ignore yet data saved!?

Grey Alien(Posted 2007) [#1]
This is weird, but I'm a Mac noob so maybe you know what's going on.

I'm compiling my ATOMG demo on the MAc and it has an ini file in the same folder as the exe.

When I change any settings in the ini file the game is ignoring them. However, if I change the settings in the game, they are being retained and loaded next time I load the game BUT not in the local ini file - somewhere else instead!

My game makes a default ini file if it can't load from the ini file so maybe it's doing that, but the question is where? I've done a finder for AOTMG.ini and the only one it finds is in the same folder as my game. Are apps on the Mac not allowed to write to folders on desktop or something (this is where my game is), like Vista's UAC - is it virtualising my ini file somewhere else?

Maybe I've just cocked up the paths, I've used forward slashes everywhere. The game data loads fine, just not the ini file!

Thanks for any advice.

Grey Alien(Posted 2007) [#2]
oops, think it was a problem with my code that checks the file name for "debug" to see if it's running in debug mode - I was looking for ".exe" and not ".app".

HOWEVER, why the hell is my filename (obtained via AppFile()) like this:

"/Users/jakebirkett/desktop/BMax Jake/AOTMG/AOTMG.debug.app/Contents/MacOS/AOTMG.debug"

Basically what the hell is Contents/MacOS/AOTMG.debug doing on the end. Sounds like some kind of virtualisation.

Is there a place where I should tell the BMax IDE it's safe to write to in the OS and where my game can safely write ini files etc? Thanks.

Grey Alien(Posted 2007) [#3]
wow found out some more. If I right click on the AOTMG.app I can select "Show Package Contents", this has a several sub folders and eventually I can find the actual end program and of course an ini file sitting in the same folder.