Reading from a text file, seperated by commas..

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Reading from a text file, seperated by commas..

BachFire(Posted 2007) [#1]
This is a GUI app, which should be simple - but not for me. I am trying to read from a text file, which only has words seperated by commas. Each word should be listed in a listbox. The way I have done it (see code) sort of works, but.. The very last word is not listed in the box - I guess I can work that one out myself somehow. But another problem is, if there is more than one line in the text file, the first word is also not listed. This puzzles me. I'm not very good at this yet, but I keep trying..

I am kind of hoping that there is a way more efficient way of doing this, and that someone can help me with improving this method.

I have been sitting with this most of the day, so I hope someone can help me out.. :(

Local style = WINDOW_TITLEBAR
Local MainWindow:TGadget=CreateWindow("no title yet", 200,200,400,400,Null,style)
	Local Menu:TGadget=CreateMenu("Test Menu",0,WindowMenu(MainWindow))
		CreateMenu "Preferences",100,Menu
		CreateMenu "Exit",101,Menu
	UpdateWindowMenu MainWindow

Local List:TGadget=CreateListBox(20,40,150,300,MainWindow)	
		Local label1:TGadget=CreateLabel("ListBox:",20,20,100,20,MainWindow)

'read from database file START

temp$=""
file:TStream=ReadFile("test.txt")
While Not Eof(file)

b=ReadByte(file)

If Chr(b)="," Then
 AddGadgetItem List,temp$
 temp$=""
Else
 temp$:+Chr(b)
EndIf

Wend

CloseFile(file)

'read from database file END

Repeat
	WaitEvent()
Until EventID()=EVENT_WINDOWCLOSE
End

tonyg(Posted 2007) [#2]
Unless you're doing something different with the text file this works for me.
If I add 'AddGadgetItem list,temp$' immediately after the wend I get the last word and I don't have an issue with the first word not being listed in a multi-line text file.

If you're on Bmax 1.24 fully synced then I can only guess the problem is with the text file.