recursive array loop?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/recursive array loop?

kimgar(Posted 2007) [#1]
hi,
i am trying to make a recursive function that loops through a multidimensional array, i've found this PHP code
Function  loop($array,  $parent=''){ 

foreach(  $array  as  $option  =>  $value  ){ 
         If(  $parent  !=  ''  ){ 
             $option  =  $parent  .  '['  .  $option  .  ']'; 
         } 
         If(  is_array($value)  ){ 
             loop($value,  $option); 
         }  Else  { 
             ?> 
     <div><?php  echo  $option;  ?>  =  <?php  echo  $value;  ?></div> 
             <?php 
         } 
     } 

} 

loop  (  $names  );

i am still learning the blitzmax syntax and do not know php very well, so i am struggling with porting the php idea to blitzmax...is it even possible? or is the array handling in blitzmax too different?

ImaginaryHuman(Posted 2007) [#2]
Why do you need recursion? Don't you know how many dimensiosn your array has, so you can just use nested for-next loops?

Perturbatio(Posted 2007) [#3]
A problem I can see is that BMax requires you to know the type of array, the arrays in PHP can hold variable values.

You *could* do it with objects I suppose, but I've no doubt there'll be problems doing it.

Czar Flavius(Posted 2007) [#4]
"or is the array handling in blitzmax too different?"

Short answer: yes. If you describe exactly what it is you're trying to do, there might be alternative methods.

kimgar(Posted 2007) [#5]
in short, what i am trying to achieve is to copy a xml structure to a treeview, and use the treeview to draw objects from attributes in the xml.

kimgar(Posted 2007) [#6]
i got it working, but the code is nasty, i was thinking that if i could nail that recursive loop, i'd learn some ways of array handling that would clean up my code a bit...

my code at the moment populating a level 5 array: