irrlicht mousepos

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/irrlicht mousepos

kimgar(Posted 2007) [#1]
hi!

i've just discovered irrlicht and blitzmax - great stuff!
i am completely new to this and could really use a little help. i am trying to create a product viz kind of thing, and i need to be able to click meshes and display info.

currently i am stuck on picking nodes, i am not sure what is the best way to do it, but was thinking of using mousepos with collisiondetection.

i've had a look at the collision example, but as far as i can understand, that checks for node collision with a sprite, i need to change that sprite collision to a mouse pointer collision

i think i need getposition, but i am not sure how to call this function(from irrlicht docs) in bMax:

'virtual core::position2d<s32> irr::gui::ICursorControl::getPosition ( )

what would the blitzMax syntax be?

i'm using gman's latest mods and bMax1.24, does anyone have any ideas?

gman(Posted 2007) [#2]
greetings :) wish i wouldve finished those picking functions for iB3D :/ anyways, you are on the right track. in comination with the cursor control, you need the what your looking for is ICursorControl.getPosition() and ISceneCollisionManager.getSceneNodeFromScreenCoordinatesBB(). pass the result of getPosition() as the position paramter. something like:
Local device:IrrlichtDevice = IrrlichtDevice.create(EDT_OPENGL,_DIMENSION2DI(640,480),16,False,False,False,Null)
Local cursor:ICursorControl=device.getCursorControl()
Local smgr:ISceneManager = device.getSceneManager() 
smgr.getSceneCollisionManager().getSceneNodeFromScreenCoordinatesBB(cursor.getPosition())

there are several functions in ISceneCollisionManager that will allow you to do picking in different ways. for example, you can convert a 3D point to screen coords and then use the above to pick a node.

kimgar(Posted 2007) [#3]
aaah, thanks alot gman, that works!
i haven't had this much coding fun since the days of assembler!