Frame limitation?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Frame limitation?

spacerat(Posted 2007) [#1]
Hi, I am new to Blitzmax and also to more complicated programming languages in general (I moved from GameMaker...). I am enjoying it so far, but there is one thing I need help with.
One thing I have noticed is that the game speed seems to change if I change the refresh rate of the game, the whole game speed changes. What I would like to know how to do first is make it so that I can frame limit the game, yet still keep the refresh rate high enough. The main reason for this is to prevent tearing in windowed mode (I can just use vsyncing in fullscreen).

Thanks in advance for any help.

Dreamora(Posted 2007) [#2]
There are different ways to achieve a constant game speed, the most used you will find on these boards is frame dependant code, which scales the amount of changes to the time passed.

Against tearing, there is only flip 1 that helps, BUT only if the user has not vsync disabled in his drivers. In that case, you can't do anything against it.

spacerat(Posted 2007) [#3]
I was also thinking about doing frame dependant code but I'm not totally sure how I would go about doing it. Also I saw that "dynamicgame.bmx" script in the Digesteroids example. If I were allowed to use that, would that be of any use?

JazzieB(Posted 2007) [#4]
There are two main methods used to ensure that a game runs at the same speed on all PCs. These are as follows.

1. DELTA TIMING - Basically, the amount of time passed between one frame and the next is used to calculate the amount that each game object should move in the next. This was what Dreamora was referring to.

2. FIXED-TIMED LOGIC - You basically separate the logic (update) code from the rendering code and have the game update a certain numnber of times a second. Usuaully a logic rate of 200 FPS or more yields better/smoother results. This is more suited to faster paced games. This is the method that I use.