max & 3d graphics

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/max & 3d graphics

Mr Snidesmin(Posted 2006) [#1]
I haven't bought max yet (still using blitz3d) but i've been really interested for ages because of what I've see of the language capabilities and the more OO feel.

However, I've been hesistant because of the ease of doing 3d with blitz3d and all of my experiments/projects involve 3d graphics.

I have a lot of programming experience in other languages and I am a fast learner, but I have little 3d graphics programming experience outside of blitz 3d and have no experience of opengl.

Bearing all this in mind, how quickly do you think I would adapt to max and programming with opengl for 3d?

Perhaps a better thing to ask is how does max's (including any freely available user dlls etc) 3d capabilities compare with blitz3d?

I guess many others have been through this experience already . . . any comments, reflections?

Dreamora(Posted 2006) [#2]
Max basic: no 3D

Currently there are 2 solutions:

MiniB3D: "B3D reconstruct" with some problems but generally not bad

Irrlicht Wrapper by GMan: Little harder to use but very powerfull.

Mr Snidesmin(Posted 2006) [#3]
So these are are essentially user libraries that provide similar 3d functionality to blitz3d then?

Are they both opengl or directx based?

I think that something like this might persuade me to get blitz max. . . :O)

Dreamora(Posted 2006) [#4]
Irrlicht has DX and OpenGL

MiniB3D is OpenGL only.

It is meant to be like Blitz3D but there are always a few things missing like 3D sound or in case of miniB3D the collision system and image/texture buffers if I remember correctly. But generally, yes they have similar 3D functionality.

Mr Snidesmin(Posted 2006) [#5]
Cool thanks. . . I think I'll put blitz max on my christmas wish list. . .

;O)

xMicky(Posted 2006) [#6]