Rotating a point about an axis or three.

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Rotating a point about an axis or three.

Ryan Burnside(Posted 2006) [#1]
Ok so I'm fairly new to the whole concept of mapping points in 3D along a 2d plain. I'll tell you my problem and what i know already in hopes that somebody can assist me. I want to plot a poing on a 2d plain with regards to the direction and angle the point is away from each of the three axis points. The camera is perpinducular to the plain, in essence top down.

To make a point rotate about the x axis. i use the following formula:
y=center_y+sin(angle)*distance_away

To rotate a point along the y axis I use this formula:
x=center_x+cos(angle)*distance_away

Now it would appear if you used both previous formulae together with a common angle you would be able to rotate the x and y points along the virtual z axis. (This axis being perpindicular the the camera or eye)

However, I can't figure out how to find the x and y positions of a given point while playing with all three of the rotations at once.

Please understand I don't really care about making a fancy 3D engine I just want some graphing calculation. I'n not out to write the next Blitz3D. I'n not trying to be a n00b with a grand illusion, I'm just VERY interested in the math.

I looked a bit into some things on Wiki and I'm not compleatly sure how to approach it. If you feel you have time to help me please do. I might be able to learn more quickly visually if you'd want to whip up an example.

bradford6(Posted 2006) [#2]
This might be in the wrong forum my friend. (maybe the OpenGL forum)

I will try to help.

If you are referring to raw openGL 3D rotations, you should look at Matrices, Euler Rotations and Quaternions. Each method has + and - depending on the application.

If you are really interested in the Math involved I suggest the following 3 course meal

1. Learn Vectors (start with 2D Vectors)
2. Learn Matrices (again, start with 2D first)