GIF handling in Blitzmax?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/GIF handling in Blitzmax?

mikelandzelo(Posted 2006) [#1]
Hey,
I'm new to BlitzMax and tried a few things out today. I'm really keen on getting more knowledge because BlitzMax is a wonderful language. But now there's a problem: I can't load GIF graphics / display them.

----------------------------------------
Here's the code:
SuperStrict
Graphics 320, 240, 0

IncBin "images/sample.gif"
Local myGif:TImage = LoadImage("incbin::images/sample.gif")

While not KeyHit(KEY_ESCAPE)
Cls
DrawImage myGif, 10, 10
Flip
Wend

So what's wrong?

Thanks in advance

tonyg(Posted 2006) [#2]
There's no GIF support in Bmax

Jesse(Posted 2006) [#3]
it support png and bmp.
in case you don't know, you can save your image into a png or a bmp image with microsoft paint program. Just load it in to the paint program and use "save as" and choose the format in the save as type.

Mordax_Praetorian(Posted 2006) [#4]
Gif is an aweful image format anyway, unless its a photograph, png is your friend

Yan(Posted 2006) [#5]
Import - BMP, JPG, PNG and TGA
Export - PNG and JPG

ImaginaryHuman(Posted 2006) [#6]
PNG was designed to succeed GIF and does pretty much everything better, except animation frames.

mikelandzelo(Posted 2006) [#7]
I think this answeres my question...

So in order to get a full animation I'll need an animation-sprite-strip and load it with LoadAnimImage() ?

tonyg(Posted 2006) [#8]
yep

skidracer(Posted 2006) [#9]
I'm not quite ready but there should be gif support added to the axe modules shortly. Here is the reader in it's current state, use LoadImage(pixmap) with the pixmap result in my test code if you want to play with it:

or try the following untested wrapper:
Function LoadGif:TImage(url:Object)
	Local stream:TStream
	Local pixmaps:TList
	Local pix:TPixmap
	stream=ReadFile(url)
	If stream
		pixmaps=ReadGifPixmaps(stream)
		CloseFile stream
		If pixmaps
			pix=TPixmap(pixmaps.valueatindex(0))