some pointers

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/some pointers

cloned(Posted 2006) [#1]
can you give me some pointers to a newbie to BMAX, i just want some pointers on what things avoid in BMAX and what i should do to keep memory consumption down

Regular K(Posted 2006) [#2]
http://blitzbasic.com/Community/posts.php?topic=42519

SculptureOfSoul(Posted 2006) [#3]
Well, I'm a newbie as well - to programming (for the most part) and to BMAX.

Here's a lone pointer: Objects (any declared Type) are passed by reference to a function, while the standard variable types (int, float, etc) are not.

So if you want to directly modify parameters of a function that are of the standard types, you must include "var" after them so that they are treated as a reference.

E.G.

cloned(Posted 2006) [#4]
well i already knew that from programming in a different language

tonyg(Posted 2006) [#5]
In that case tell us EVERYTHING else you know and we'll see what's missing.

H&K(Posted 2006) [#6]
So if you want to directly modify parameters of a function that are of the standard types, you must include "var" after them so that they are treated as a reference.
You could of course just pass the whole object, and then not worry either way. (Because the object is by refference it is still just a pointer being passed)

In fact (Broken record time), where ever possible the function/method should be called via the object, and not simply passed a param of the object

Brendane(Posted 2006) [#7]
"the function/method should be called via the object, and not simply passed a param of the object"

I have no idea what this means.

tonyg(Posted 2006) [#8]
I *think*...
Type TSum
	Field a:Int
	Function create:TSum(num:Int)
		mynew:TSum = New TSum
		mynew.a = num
		Return mynew
	End Function
 	Function double_a_func(myobject:TSUM)
		Return myobject.a * 2
	End Function
	Method double_a_method()
		Return a * 2
	End Method
End Type
mynew:TSum = TSum.create(5)
Print TSum.double_a_func(mynew)