Overusage or Underusage of objects.

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Overusage or Underusage of objects.

Ryan Burnside(Posted 2006) [#1]
Ok well I love objects as much as the next guy, but I tend to make fewer objects than some folks. I tend to make alot of functions rather than objects. Is this a bad programming practice? Is there such a thing as overusage or underusage?

H&K(Posted 2006) [#2]
As a single programmer I dont think that there is a rule on this. I object like mad. And try to have no globals that are outside a type namespace. And the same for constants.

I think I probably "Overuse" objects, becuase even when I know its a pointless Type, I still make it. I think an "ideal" (asin what I think is pleasing), would be everything in a type.
Global ReturnValue:Int = 0
Local Game:Game = New Game
Return ReturnValue
I quite willing to be told that this makes me a bad progammer or not. Cos I dont care, It seems so much more.... elegant.

WendellM(Posted 2006) [#3]
I think that BlitzMax was specifically designed to cater to both procedural and object-oriented programmers, so it allows whatever level of OO that you like. Personally I think that's a great approach, since it doesn't force OO on those who don't want it, but allows it for those who like it.

As for me, I'm big on OOP. One of my few problems with the otherwise-great Blitz3D was how functions were unrelated to their data, and how there were no static locals (i.e. Globals within a Type in Max), forcing the use of program-wide Globals for what should be limited within a Function.

BlitzMax fixed all that wonderfully while not requiring OO use. I'm quite happy with it, and once 3D is added, it should become the greatest language around for those who can appreciate it! (That's perhaps a bit over-the-top, but it's how I feel <g>.)