Blitzbasic -> blitzmax

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Blitzbasic -> blitzmax

Olla(Posted 2006) [#1]
Hi, I got experience with Blitzbasic, but I'm a Blitzmax noob :-) ... I'm using an older version (1.09) because I can't get the newer updates to work together with the unofficial Mappy libs, for whatever reason. Anyway, everything is basically working fine with 1.09, but I have a problem getting following like to work under Max:

blks[n].bg = blks[aniseq[anis[a].ancur]].bg

Where n is the tile/block number and a is the animation number...
I get a compile error: Expression of type 'int' cannot be indexed... This question is probably only for people with experience with BM + the title editor: Mappy...

Any help on this is much appreciated.

Dreamora(Posted 2006) [#2]
This means that one of the 3 arrays you use there isn't an array and most likely would return one (-> change [..] to ()[..]).

And I would strongly suggest that you use 1.20 as 1.09 has some serious issues. Its far easier to get mappy to work with it than getting the problems out you have (DX etc)

Olla(Posted 2006) [#3]
@Dreamora, thanks for you prompt feedback.. I have tried to change what you suggested, but still not working... Maybe by posting following code snippet from Mappy pub.lib, you can help me figuring out how the line should be:

Type BLKSTR
Field bg:Int, fg:Int, fg2:Int, fg3:Int
Field user1:Int, user2:Int, user3:Int, user4:Int, user5:Int, user6:Int, user7:Int
Field tl:Int, tr:Int, bl:Int, br:Int
Field trigger:Int, unused1:Int, unused2:Int, unused3:Int
EndType

Type ANISTR
Field antype:Int, andelay:Int, ancount:Int, anuser:Int
Field ancur:Int, anstart:Int, anend:Int
EndType

Type MappyMap
Field mapmaxlayers:Int=2
Field maperror:Int
Field mapislsb:Int, maptype:Int
Field mapchunkdone:Int
Field maptrans8:Int, maptransr:Int, maptransg:Int, maptransb:Int, maptransval:Int
Field mapwidth:Int, mapheight:Int
Field mapblockwidth:Int, mapblockheight:Int, mapdepth:Int