First BMax program

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/First BMax program

SkyCube(Posted 2006) [#1]
Hello,

I am new to BlitzMax and I'm having a hard time getting the simplest program to run. Can one shed any light on why this code fails?
{code}

CreateGraphics (1024,768,16,60,0)
imagen = LoadImage("image1.jpg",0)

DrawImage imagen,0,0,0
Flip

WaitKey
{/code}

I keep getting a "call of null object method or property" (or something like that ) error. My guess is that the image is for some reason not loading. But the documentation does not specify which formats are supported. When I use Print on the "imagen" object, I get a 1, so I guess that the object is not really null. Also, the WaitKey command keeps on waiting even after I press a key. Why is this?

Azathoth(Posted 2006) [#2]
You need to use SetGraphics with the returned Object from CreateGraphics

Couldn't you just use the Graphics command instead as I think it does it automatically?

TomToad(Posted 2006) [#3]
imagen needs to be of type TImage.
change
imagen = LoadImage("image1.jpg",0)
to
imagen:TImage = LoadImage("image1.jpg",0)
Also make sure the image is in the same directory as your program since you're not specifying a path.

assari(Posted 2006) [#4]
why not try out these beginner tutorials?
http://www.2dgamecreators.com/tutorials/gameprogramming/basics/S1%20-%20First%20Program.html
and then this http://www.blitzmax.com/Community/posts.php?topic=59509

SkyCube(Posted 2006) [#5]
Thanks everyone,

I will certainly try out the tutorials. I was able to make it run using Azathoth's suggestion about the Graphics command. Apparently, there are various way to initiate a graphics display. For what purpose is still beyond me. I own Blitz3D and am just starting with BMax. Thanks everyone.

Dreamora(Posted 2006) [#6]
CreateGraphics (or create in general) are functions that create an object with return for later usage. The graphics usage is mainly for canvases so you can change the "drawn" context.