Array or Tlist ??

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Array or Tlist ??

Blitzplotter(Posted 2006) [#1]
Hi folks. I've some experience of B3D, managed to suss how to populate 10 strings with variable user input - Howvever I'm only just getting to grips with BMax. Would it be best to use a Tlist or an array for indivdual character manipulation within BMax ?

Grisu(Posted 2006) [#2]
In general the same rules for b3d apply in bmx.

A static array will always be faster than a Tlist.
Also you can easier access elements of a static array than those of a type list.

If you have a limited number of elements (10 in your case) I would mostly prefer a static array. But it really doesn't matter with modern pc's.

If you have lets say 1.000 or more elements it does!

Blitzplotter(Posted 2006) [#3]
Cheers Grisu - static array it is then...

bradford6(Posted 2006) [#4]
I think a dynamic array would be better. (no real difference)

this one resizes each time you press enter...

kind of a mess. code wise. got carried away.

Grey Alien(Posted 2006) [#5]
I tried to post this last night with an explanation but the site was down:

Strict
Local me$ = "hello"

Print Chr(me[4]) 'prints o (string is a zero-based array)

Local array$[3]

array[2] = "Jake"

Print Chr(array[2][0]) 'prints J
Print Chr(array[2][1]) 'prints A

Local List:TList = New TList
List.AddLast("one")
Print Chr(String(List.Last())[1]) 'prints n

Blitzplotter(Posted 2006) [#6]
Cheers guys,this was proving a stumbling block...

@ bradford6 your Case statements LOL :-}

@ Grey - I'll creep my revised project those baby steps forward again. Cheers - My motivation for re-doing a whole project that was so near to just needing bells and whistles (but was potentially fundamentally flawed in B3D) in a new programming language requires more dedication than I'd anticipated.... Rome wasn't built in a day.....

Blitzplotter(Posted 2006) [#7]