BlitzMax versus TGB (Torque Game Builder)

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/BlitzMax versus TGB (Torque Game Builder)

Greg Squire(Posted 2006) [#1]
I've been comparing 2D engines some (mostly BlitzMax & TGB [Torque Game Builder]). I wanted to get some opinions on which one people thought was better for 2D games. I'm an experienced programmer, so the language (Basic vs. C++) thing is not a concern for me. I been using Blitz3D and like it a lot. I didn't get very far with TGE (Torque Game Engine - the 3D one) because of the huge learning curve. Cross-platform support (Windows and Mac) is important to me (and they both support that). The built in editors in TGB seem like it might be a big plus, wherein BlitzMax you have to build your own or look for a third party one. However, my previous experience with the other Torque engine, would lean me back to BlitzMax Thoughts? What are the pros and cons of each.

Robert Cummings(Posted 2006) [#2]
on an old machine, TGB's shooter demo crawled to a halt, literally to a standstill. Blitzmax crawled to 15fps but remained playable with far more going on screen.

400mhz pc with tnt card. Your choice...

FlameDuck(Posted 2006) [#3]
They do different things.

One of the major differences is that TGB uses collision hulls, where as Max2D uses pixel perfect collisions. So depending on what you want to do, that might effect your choice.

The tools with TGB really do make it seem like more of a whole product. However those tools are absolutely nessecary, where as with Max2D you can 'wing it' and still get decent results.

Since you know C++, one major advantage is that you'll be able to use TGB in your favorite IDE (where as BlitzMAX doesn't have much in the way of supporting 3rd party developer environments).

Lastly, for comparative licenses, TGB is 4 times as expensive.

Personally, I'd recommend BlitzMAX, but I am biased.

Robert Cummings(Posted 2006) [#4]