Makeing instances and updating them.

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Makeing instances and updating them.

Ryan Burnside(Posted 2006) [#1]
Ok I've read all tutorials and I'm still confused. I payed my 80 dollars for this powerfull engine so I would like to get just the basics down.

Let me set the scene:
I used to be a HARDCORE Game Maker programmer user so converting to BlitzMax presents some hurdles for me.YOU see in Game Maker you simply premade each object and you used a one line command to make new instances of the object.

The one glaring problem I'm having is wrapping my mind around maintaining instances through the "Tlists".

I know you make a type and that sets the general framework for all objects created from that type. I know you have to save each instance into a list and you must update the lists using a "for" loop. I also realize that you must code a deletion function to remove the instance from the list when you no longer want it to exist.

Could someone please show me how to create an instance of a type object and how to properly make a holding list, and maintain instances of the objects in the holding list?
Please comment on everything I just try and fail, try and fail. I simply don't understand how to declare and create instances and maintain their update functions.
Please assist if you can. I'm REALLY excited about learning more BlitzMax.

Cajun17(Posted 2006) [#2]
Well first, welcome to the forum.

I've used game maker quite a bit recently and the way it handles object threw me so I can relate.

Incase you didn't already know instances of objects don't have to be stored in a list. May times it's useful to do so, but it's not required.

Here's a little list example:

Personally I like to keep my lists outside of the instances they hold. For example I would make an EnemyManager type that had a list to hold all my enemies. That way I could make more than one list of enemies if I wanted.