Playing around with BlitzMax Demo...

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Playing around with BlitzMax Demo...

Apollonius(Posted 2006) [#1]
Hello all, I have BlitzPlus, but it seems Blitz Max has the features I want such as Transparency and rotation.. ect.

But I'm not too good with Blitz Plus yet and Blitz Max is quite complicated, half teh stuff I try now doesn't work.

Questions:
1. Modules? What the hell are those? Sets of Functions? Do I need to call out the modules I wana use?

2. The commands references is hard to browse in, I'm not quite sure what I'm doing really. Like is there somewhere with all the commands and what they do? I tryed finding "Graphics" but couldn't find it... I wanted to set it to windowed at 800x600. o.o

Uber-nerd(Posted 2006) [#2]
No idea. I still don't know why I jumped from bb to bm... well at least its recent and I like programming with confusing languages because I'm a nerd =) lets look at the main menu in bm for modules...

Module Reference
Welcome to the BlitzMax module reference.

This section describes all commands contained in BlitzMax modules.

For a description of the BlitzMax programming language, please see the BlitzMax language reference.

If you're new to BlitzMax, you might want to look at these modules first:
Audio - Sound effects and noises
Max2D - 2D graphics and rendering
Timers - Creating and using timers
Streams - Reading and writing data
File system - Managing the file system
Polled input - Getting keyboard and mouse input
Joystick - Getting joystick input

Ok I would take it that modules are just sections of information about commands. And to answer your second question: the documentation sucks. Resort to asking your noobish questions in the forums here. However you should be able to find things kind-of-easily. Lets see... help>modules>graphics> now lets double click on the graphics tab and see what crap it has to offer.