MySQL databases

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/MySQL databases

peltazoid(Posted 2006) [#1]
Hi, I'm writing a multiplayer boardgame conversion of an abstract boardgame called mensa connections. I plan on having a server program, and clients connect to a lobby. I also want to be able to keep a database of registered players, for keeping track of games w/l/d, times played...etc

after seeing the MySQL module by gman, I thought this would make it easier. However I have no experience with databases and I have the following questions

1) I take it I need to create the database in MySQL first. (possibly with a decent front end as it seems it is command line)?

2) MySQL Community Edition does act as a server, doesn't it? (not looked into it fully yet)

3) Is the module just for quering the database or can you add entries with it? Anyone got any tutorials for using the lib?

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Booticus(Posted 2006) [#2]
Well.....Im no database guru...but even the MySQL community edition is a whopping 15megabytes ZIPPED and not installed...not to mention the various hassles you'd run into configuring the damned thing (I got a webdesign friend of mine to set mine up, and I'd like to think I'm pretty smart to be able to setup software...NOT SO with MySQL) so putting that burden on an end-user made me abandon MySQL and the fantastic mod made by gman for BlitzMax as a viable option for storage on an end user program. (pant pant......) So I'd say do a search for the module by gman (sorry to be lazy but Im about to go to sleep) and attack people in the forums. You know, in the thread theres some great examples. Ask for Gavin. He's great! ;)

But again, as a solution on a program for an end-user? No way. Not at this point. But holler if you find a better solution!!!! I'd like to see something mysql style for a database for a program without all the fuss of mySQL!!! :):):)

Chris C(Posted 2006) [#3]