Playing MP3's

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Playing MP3's

Xerra(Posted 2006) [#1]
Hi guys,

I'm a former Blitz2d programmer (yeah, that far back) that's taken the plunge last night and purchased BlitzMax and MaxGUI so I can get back into programming again. Now I've kind of grown up with Blitz from the Amiga version so I've got a rough idea of what I'm doing but what I appear to be missing is a method for playing MP3's.

I'm working through Assari's exellent tutorials to get used to MaxGUI so I thought i'd make myself a simple little MP3 player which can do things like save playlists and upload mp3's to my memory card for me with a nice gui front end.

Of course if I can't actually play MP3's with this version of Blitz then I'm kind of at a dead end from the start as all my music is in that format and I dont want to convert it all into Ogg or (heaven forbid) Wavs.

Many thanks if anyone can help me out.

Dreamora(Posted 2006) [#2]
This is due to license reasons.
As long as you do not own a license, you should not use MP3 in your software (5000 downloads and you need one, no mather if freeware or commercial).

Thus OGG is the standard format in BM.

skidracer(Posted 2006) [#3]
this might help get you started,

[EDIT] modified to use an alias name to resolve big path names

' mci based windows media controller
' derived from http://www.gamedev.net/reference/articles/article2053.asp

Extern "win32"

Function mciSendStringA(cmd$z,resultbuffer:Byte Ptr=Null,buffersize=0,hwndcallback=0)

End Extern

Local file$
Local cmd$
Local result

file="E:\music\Bloc Party\Silent Alarm\01 Like Eating Glass.mp3"

cmd="open ~q"+file+"~q alias mysound"

result=mciSendStringA(cmd)

Print "result="+result

cmd="play mysound from 0"

result=mciSendStringA(cmd)

Print "result="+result

Input "hit enter to end"
End

EOF(Posted 2006) [#4]
Thats nice Simon. Tried it with a *.wmv and it works nicely.

xlsior(Posted 2006) [#5]