Complete beginner's documentation?!

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Complete beginner's documentation?!

Thief(Posted 2006) [#1]
Hi all, after a few weeks of asking questions in #blitzbasic and minor research, I decided to choose Blitzmax as my introduction into programming.

Earlier today I purchased Blitzmax and because the computer i'll be working on doesn't have a connection to the internet, I burned Bmax along with a guide to a cd.

So anyways I get to my room and I bootup my machine and install Blitzmax no problem. I finished reading all of the documentation under User Guide [+] and was now ready to begin the Language [+] heading in the NavBar. This is where I _thought_ I would start learning how to actually program in Blitzmax.

I'm totally lost, this doesn't even seem to be documentation in any sense of the word, it's more of a reference for someone who is already a comfortable programmer. I began reading the "Welcome" section which basically tells me nothing other than to read the part about what makes Blitzmax differ from the ordinary BASIC _IF_ I'm a literate BASIC programmer.

I sincerely hope i've overlooked something, or i've made a mistake. Otherwise I'm highly considering requesting some sort of refund on my purchase.

Amon(Posted 2006) [#2]
Welcome :)

The lack of proper documentation for BlitzMax has been talked about a lot in many threads as people fealt it was poor. Nothing has been done about this and all requests for updated documentation have fallen on deaf ears.

Anyway, the community did at least try and compliment the documenation by providing tutorials and how-to's in the tutorials forum.

http://www.blitzbasic.com/Community/topics.php?forum=112

Look for the beginners guide to blitzmax which helped me greatley to understand blitzmax.