Help: Implementing Wave's FPS and DeltaTime

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Help: Implementing Wave's FPS and DeltaTime

WarpZone(Posted 2005) [#1]
Okay, I'm having trouble implementing Wave's DeltaTime type. I thought I followed his instructions exactly, but I'm very new at this so who knows?

If my implementation is correct, then maybe the type itself is buggy?

main program:

Pretty much the only lines that refer to DeltaTime are these two lines from the update method of TypeActor:

x = x + (xMove*Delta.Time())
y = y + (yMove*Delta.Time())

For some reason, the turtle moves but the snake does not. Also, when the turtle hits the left side of the screen, it freezes. The player never moves. If I take out the reference to DeltaTime(), everything works as expected.

Here are the contents of FPS.bmx and DeltaTime.bmx, just in case I screwed something up while transcribing them:

FPS.bmx:

Delta Time

(Yes, I'm probabaly going to keep asking questions every step of the way on this simple little demo game until I figure out what the heck I'm doing.)

QuietBloke(Posted 2005) [#2]
I think the problem is that variables default to be integers.
If you change the type sprite x and y variables to be floats

ie.

Field x:Float
Field y:Float

it should work.

WarpZone(Posted 2005) [#3]
Let's see...

Yep! :)

But, MAN, that sucks that int/float issues like that can sneak up on you like that. :x How can you tell when an issue like that is going to occur? And what about Strict? I thought the whole point of Strict was that it would force you to remove ambiguities and declare everything precisely?

Strangely enough, it doesn't seem to care whether xMove and yMove are declared floats or not. Why is that?

My int score is too low for programming. :( I'm gonna go drink a float. :)

WarpZone(Posted 2005) [#4]
If anyone cares, here is Wave's DeltaTime code, documented a bit more concisely (in my opinion):

QuietBloke(Posted 2005) [#5]