a few questions about a tilemap and a camera

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/a few questions about a tilemap and a camera

delbar(Posted 2005) [#1]
Hello.

I have been struggling with trying to implement a " camera " like functionality in my game I am making. More like I am struggling on how to implement it. Here is my code so far. The types are in seperate files and also my main loop is.

My questions are probly simple or obvious but I am new to this and am not sure which I should do and don't want to code it one way and find out I should have done it another way.

With my Maps type code, is the tiled map larger then my screen x,y and I just cant see it because of no camera type yet? I know its not wider because I don't want it to be, but is the Y height go beyond the upper or lower portion of my viewing area? And if it does go beyond my screen how do I move my player along it to make a camera in 2D, should I use the tiled map index somehow or should I use the screen X&Y to somehow do it? I don't want to code it one way and then later on find out I should have done it another way. The map sizes in my game will remain the same size for all levels.
If I do need to use the arrays index could someone be so kind as to show how you index the array because the help files doesn't show much on how to do it.

Another question related to this is I used another image to draw some foliage on the map using a .bmp and didn't put it into the array, just used drawtext and drew over my tiled map or on top of it.This slowed my game down terribly, the bullets out of my players gun looked like slow motion..LoL , is there a better way to do this or a reason why it slowed it down?