Is there a way to check pixel color?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Is there a way to check pixel color?

Booticus(Posted 2005) [#1]
Hey guys, Im a total Blitzmax newb so bear with me. Is there a way to check the color of a pixel? Here's a link of my screenshot (17k, small):

I wanted to figure out how to have the guys run ALONG the terrain, and I was thinking of basically checking the color of the terrain beneath him (the orange stuff). Any clues? I saw the collideimage functions, but wasnt sure if it was overkill.

Oh and can someone point me to the FAQs on how to submit code in a code window? I've seen the link before but naturally I cant find it now! Thaaanks!

-Mario

Perturbatio(Posted 2005) [#2]
I think that doing pixel checks might be a little processor intensive since you would presumably need to convert it to a pixmap first.

But since you appear to be drawing the lines manually, why not simply move a point along each line and use that as a handle to offset the drawing of the image from?

faq
see what are the forum codes?

Booticus(Posted 2005) [#3]
Cool. Is there a ridiculously easy way to do that? I already have a formula to find the "heading" of a dot from another dot. I can make it move like that by using the sample code from the asteroids game, etc......or am I over-complicating things again?

And thanks for the FAQ link!!!

Booticus(Posted 2005) [#4]
I guess I should clarify this is a little rip off of the Atari ST game OIDS (Yes I know its been remade!) But I'm doing this as a break from my other project. :) Im aiming to have the guys running around pell-mell on the terrain randomly changing directions from left to right, trying to escape the UFO (you) before you beam 'em up. :)

Robert(Posted 2005) [#5]