Drawing Part of an Image

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Drawing Part of an Image

z80jim(Posted 2005) [#1]
I'm new to all the Blitz programming and am just starting to learn Blitz. So far I think it is great.

My question is if there is any way to draw only a portion of an image? It looks like DrawImage will only draw the whole image that was loaded.

Thanks,
Jim

GfK(Posted 2005) [#2]
Assuming this command still exists in Blitzmax (haven't got it on this PC so can't check but I'm sure I remember seeing it in the documentation):

DrawImageRect image,x,y,rect_x,rect_y,rect_width,rect_height,[frame]

ImaginaryHuman(Posted 2005) [#3]
This command does exist. From what I can tell it draws an image within a rectangular window in the backbuffer. I presume if you use a handle offset you could effectively cause a given section of an image to be drawn. I am guessing this command sets up a `scissor` window so that only pixels within the window area are drawn?

You could use this to store several frames of an animation in a single `Image` and only draw a given frame - saves a lot of video memory. I've no idea whether this works with rotation and scaling or not. And if you wanted to rotate an image taken from part of a larger image, and draw the whole thing, I am thinking the corners would get clipped?

Warren(Posted 2005) [#4]
Noel Cower posted a routine to the code archives that does this. I don't know why BlitzMax doesn't have a native function for this, but...

z80jim(Posted 2005) [#5]
Thanks for the quick response. For one particular tile animation I need to draw my images from a larger image so that it can scroll.

Looks like Noel Cower module will do the trick.

Thanks
Jim

tonyg(Posted 2005) [#6]
Can you use PixmapWindow?

Bot Builder(Posted 2005) [#7]