Shortcut to refer to a type field?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Shortcut to refer to a type field?

ImaginaryHuman(Posted 2005) [#1]
Is there a shortcut of some kind that lets you refer to fields of nested types easily without having to do loads of field.field.field.x ? I'm kinda new to using types. Didn't the original BlitzBasic have such a feature?

e.g.
Type mytype
   Field avar:Int
End Type

Type mytype2
   Field bvar:mytype
   Field cvar:Int
End Type

Type mytype3
   Field dvar:mytype2
   Field evar:Int
End Type

Thing:mytype3=New mytype3

'How do I do this with less code:
Print Thing.dvar.bvar.avar

Is there some command that lets you refer only to the `mytype` fields? e.g.

Print .avar?

Or am I getting confused with `Self` and should be doing Object Oriented?

Bot Builder(Posted 2005) [#2]
Nope. No shortcut.

AaronK(Posted 2005) [#3]
There's no shortcut, but you'll find that normally things like this aren't too much of a problem. Not often, in the real world, if you're abstracted your design out, would you find going more than 1 deep. Sure sometimes you do, of course, but generally not. When you're working with an object, you call stuff etc on it's immediate fields, or maybe call a method on one of it's field objects.

Aaron

Robert(Posted 2005) [#4]
If you intend to use Thing.dvar.bvar.avar often in the same function, you could create a reference to bvar at the top:

Local bvar:mytype=Thing.dbar.bvar

bvar.avar=whatever

teamonkey(Posted 2005) [#5]
Or use pointers. Something like:
Type mytype
End Type

Type mytype2
End Type

Type mytype3
End Type

Local Thing:mytype3=New mytype3

Local a:Int Ptr = Varptr(Thing.dvar.bvar.avar)

Print a[0] ' Thing.dvar.bvar.avar

Which will save typing if you use it a lot.

Bot Builder(Posted 2005) [#6]
With TeaMonkey's example you could also use this to access other variables in the type, since bmax stores its types with the variables in the same order. For instance:
Type mytype
   Field fvar:Int
End Type