Slices - clarification

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Slices - clarification

Emmett(Posted 2005) [#1]
Hello everyone,
As you can tell from this question I am Very New to this stuff.
In the language reference on page Slices my understanding is:

a=a[..] 'copy all elements of a[] "need clarification here"
Am I to understand that the (variable a) is different than the array with the same name? If so then I understand.

a=a[..200] 'resize a[] to 200 elements "need clarification here"
The instructions on this page also say:
a=a[..50] 'extract first 50 elements of a[]
Am I to understand that a[..some number] could be either an extraction or a resize? If so please explain.

fredborg(Posted 2005) [#2]
Basically a[..count] means return a resized copy of array 'a' with 'count' elements. You could consider it to be the same as 'Dim a(count)' in other variants of Basic, although slices are much more flexible.

a=a[..] is kind of redundant, as it simply copies the original array 'a' back into 'a'. A more logical example would be:
b[] = a[..] which copies the contents of array 'a' into a new array 'b'.

bradford6(Posted 2005) [#3]

Local a[] = [11,22,33,44,55]
Print "a[] = [11,22,33,44,55]  creates the array on the fly"

Print "a[1] = "+a[1]
Print "a is "+Len(a)+" elements long"
a = a[..20]
Print "a[1] still = "+a[1]

Print "but Now, a is "+Len(a)+" elements long"

Floyd(Posted 2005) [#4]
The slice a[3..7] consists of elements of a starting at a[3] going up to, but not including, a[7].

It is a new array, built from the elements of a. An statement such as

a = a[3..7]

says to build this new subarray, then assign it to a.

It may help to consider ordinary variables:

Local x%
Local y#

This says x is an integer and y is a float. After they are declared they may be used as x,y without the % or #.

Local a%[]

This says the variable a is really an array. So the [ is rather like the % or # in declaring what kind of variable a is. In this case, a is an array of integers.