Just some Questions and Suggestions

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Just some Questions and Suggestions

taumel(Posted 2005) [#1]
Hello,

this week i had some time playing around with the beta of bmax on win32.
Well i've run into some issues: might be because i'm a newbie to bmax, might be because it's beta.

*) As it's Beta no complaining about the IDE and some crashes.

a) Documentation (dunno if this is a beta-subject)

Well not every language might be so clear and easy to understand as ruby or python is but often i just only lost time because i simply wasn't able to find the appropriate help in the documentation.

Suggestions for the documentation:

- a search function
- to be complete (every command should have a working example)
- complete linking between related topics/commands
- working cut&paste of the example code with a working back in the navigation
- the 'sample code' examples should cover a wide range of different topics (i found no examples of how to do highscore, how to work with fonts, ...)
- tutorials to different topics would be nice

b) Incbin

Haven't used them since AsmOne on Amiga... :O)
Could it be possible to use them with a variable?

Something like

gfxDir="gfx/"
gfxImg="player.png"

Incbin gfxDir+gfxImg
img_player=LoadImage("incbin::"+gfxDir+gfxImg)

would be much more comfortable than

Incbin "gfx/player.png"
img_player=LoadImage("incbin::gfx/player.png")

as you would not have to define the literals twice.

c) Floats

Global dum#=0
dum:+.222
Print dum

Results to

I would have expected 0.222 here. Where does the rest 0.000000003 come from - incorrect rounding from cpu?

dum:+.222 is allowed
dum:+222. is not

Would be great if both would work.

d) Double Buffering/Trails

How do i make trails with the existing concept?

loop
drawing
flip;'cls
end loop

does make trails, but they flicker as i do have different pictures in the buffers.