Installing on Linux

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Installing on Linux

Rooster(Posted 2016) [#1]
Okay I am trying to install BlitzMax on a Unbutu computer, but I have no prior experience with Linux. I've seen tutorials but they just confuse me, so what is the best way to install BM? I am on 14.04 by the way.

markcw(Posted 2016) [#2]
64 or 32 bit? 32 should work but you may have issues with 64 (I haven't tried 64 ubuntu).

There's a script HERE which is supposed to simpify things. That code is based on a thread HERE with more tips you may need.

Rooster(Posted 2016) [#3]
Just finished running that, and it looks like it worked, but I don't know where to find it.
I looked in /usr/share/applications but I did not see it.
64 btw.

Brucey(Posted 2016) [#4]
The editor, MaxIDE, will run from the dir you unzip it.
BlitzMax doesn't install anywhere. The script is for installing required development resources.

Rooster(Posted 2016) [#5]
Okay. I feel really dumb asking this, but how do you get it to run?

Derron(Posted 2016) [#6]
from within a console in the BlitzMax directory:
./MaxIDE

this will show errors which might be hidden when double clicking on the application from thunar/file-roller/nautilus...

bye
Ron

Brucey(Posted 2016) [#7]
Assuming you've run the scripts for setting everything up correctly...

Double clicking on the icon (in your file manager) may work.

Otherwise, open up a Terminal, cd to the BlitzMax folder and then type :
./MaxIDE

(including the dot and the slash).

If you get a particular error, post here for further assistance.

You may also wish to find some time for learning how to use Linux. There are many resources on the internet.

You may also discover that perhaps your time may be better spent doing actual programming on your usual platform than trying to learn Linux *and* BlitzMax-on-Linux at the same time...

Rooster(Posted 2016) [#8]
Okay I'm getting a mesege that says