EventQueue - Drag'n'Drop

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/EventQueue - Drag'n'Drop

Dan(Posted 2016) [#1]
Hi, im absolute beginner in BlitzMax language.

I needed a code for drag and drop, so i have googled/searched a bit, and found following code:

The code is working ok, but the limit on dropped files is 255.
So on this page, they have suggested to:

Const QUEUESIZE=256
Const QUEUEMASK=QUEUESIZE-1
Global queue:TEvent[QUEUESIZE],queue_put,queue_get

Change the Queuesize, to increase the amount of files which can be dropped in.

After several try and error, with increasing and decreasing this Queuesize,
i finaly recognized that it doesnt accept every number.

The numbers which are accepted,have to be in the binary format eg:
%0000011111111 = 255+1, so the number 256 is accepted.
So, the next binary numbers acepted would be %0111111111, then %01111111111 and so on... (+1)

I now have this Queuesize changed to 16384.

And my Questions are:

Why were it set to 256 ? edit:(ok this is not a real question)
What is the advantage/disadvantage of having higher number than that ?
or does a Higher number affect the Program in a unwanted way ?

grable(Posted 2016) [#2]
I dont think it matters that much, all it would do is use memory. IE keeping more events live even after they have been processed.
But it would also allow for less missed events, if your sink was unable to eat them faster than the producers it could potentially roll over unprocessed ones if the queue is too small.

I never liked the way it can fill the entire event queue and potentially remove other valid events.
So i propose a better fix for this, search for WM_DROPFILES in win32maxguiex.bmx and replace it with this:
			Case WM_DROPFILES
				Local hdrop,pt[2],path$
				Local pbuffer:Short[MAX_PATH]
				Local i,n,l
				Local files$[]
				DragQueryPoint wp,pt
				n=DragQueryFileW(wp,$ffffffff,Null,0);
				For i=0 Until n
					l=DragQueryFileW(wp,i,pbuffer,MAX_PATH)
					path=String.FromShorts(pbuffer,l)