String Stress

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/String Stress

dw817(Posted 2016) [#1]
Being a long-time BASIC programmer, I am familiar with the command MID$ being used for both retrieving a series of characters from a string AND being able to place them in.

I am finding however that BlitzMAX does not allow for this. So I guess it's a pretty simple question for you veterans. What code would I use to make this work ?
a$="apple"

' Mid$(a$,2,1)="z" ' does not work
' a$[1..2]="z" ' does not work
' poke varptr ??

Print a$ ' result should be "azple"

Yasha(Posted 2016) [#2]
Strings are considered values in BlitzMax, even though they're implemented as objects, and are not mutable once they've been constructed. You need to use value-based logic as a result, extracting substrings and combining them to form new result strings:

Local a:String = "apple"
Local from:Int = 1, _to:Int = 2
Local b:String = a[..from] + "z" + a[_to..]

If you really need mutable array-like semantics (perhaps you're doing some very high-performance dense text processing work), you could use an array as an informal string buffer and then use String.FromBytes or String.FromShorts when done. But this is unlikely to be necessary in practice (and immutable semantics are always better style).

dw817(Posted 2016) [#3]
No easier way to do it ? I was hoping maybe I could use Varptr, or PokeByte or something like that.

Your method /from/ and /to/ is very similar to what I'm using now.
a$="apple"

a$=changechar$(a$,2,"z")

Print a$

Function changechar$(a$,b,c$)
  Return Left$(a$,b-1)+c$+Mid$(a$,b+1)
EndFunction
I wanted to use the string as a pointer to graphics so instead of building a 4-byte integer I could build 4-characters instead.

Yet - now I am understanding that strings take 2-bytes per character, whereas I know MANY programming languages where a single string character is 1-byte.
a$="apple"
Print SizeOf(a$) ' 10
a$="apples"
Print SizeOf(a$) ' 12