The best way to preserve the backbuffer?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/The best way to preserve the backbuffer?

Juiceter(Posted 2015) [#1]
Well, I'm new to Blitzmax, and got a shock coming from blitz 2d in that the backbuffer does not preserve what was written to it previously (something to do with gfxcards all being different, I suppose).

Is there any fast way to do this, as it seems obvious not to waste time redrawing everything again if nothing changes and you are just adding to what was there already after every flip?

I've tried grabbing the backbuffer to an image and redrawing it to the backbuffer after a flip before adding to it, but this method is just too slow (@ 1280x1024).

Perhaps someone has written a snippet of code that can be included to work as the blitz 2d method did?

Juiceter(Posted 2015) [#2]
Note: I need to use fullscreen. The buffer does seem to be preserved if you use windowed mode, though.

Yasha(Posted 2015) [#3]
as it seems obvious not to waste time redrawing everything again if nothing changes

Does it?

Your application needs to be written so that it doesn't drop frames even under the highest expected load. That means that, considered on its own, a frame where stuff happpens and then also it gets drawn needs to complete within a fixed allowable amount of time.

If the above, which is demanding in two places, can happen quickly enough to fit within a single frame's millisecond budget, then it stands to reason that a different frame where nothing happens and also it gets drawn will almost always be safely under budget as well, since the cost is the same in the latter part but significantly less in the former part.