Advantages of Blitzmax over Blitzplus?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Advantages of Blitzmax over Blitzplus?

Dan60(Posted 2015) [#1]
I love Blitzplus.....but can someone give me advantages of Blitzmax over blitzplus. I may be tempted to switch.
I have a 5000 lines of code in Blitzplus. I might possibly convert to Blitzplus for Mac compatibility. I have no experience in object oriented programming but I do know C and VB6, so I wondering if I will be as productive in BlitzMax.

What do you like about Blitzmax that Blitzplus doesn't have?

Brucey(Posted 2015) [#2]
You don't need to use all of BlitzMax's OO stuff if you don't want to. You can do everything in Functions if you prefer.

What do you like about Blitzmax that Blitzplus doesn't have?

It's cross-platform. That's probably the biggest plus. (if you are into that kind of thing)
It's also very easy to extend through modules.

Yasha(Posted 2015) [#3]
It's better in every comparable way.

- faster code
- separate compilation
- prettier syntax
- automatic memory management
- much better interop with C and lower-level features (still not great, but better than "everything is an int and use banks for memory")
- reflection enables some cool metaprogramming tricks
- function pointers
- better collection/array support, inline array creation
- minor language fixes (nested globals, nested functions, properly scoped locals, proper working field initializers, etc.)

...that's just off the top of my head. Honestly the much-touted OOP support isn't that big a deal (it's not a very "modern" object model by design, anyway; you probably won't use it as-intended). It's the very long list of "minor" tweaks and fixes and general improvements that make it such a better language. They really add up.

Kryzon(Posted 2015) [#4]
Plus the modules are open source (graphics, sound, even the low-level interfaces to the operating system).
You can learn a lot and customise/tweak the modules.

Hotshot2005(Posted 2015) [#5]