Stuck and need help

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Stuck and need help

Bill246(Posted 2014) [#1]
I'm working on a simple game and am stuck. Hopefully someone here and help me out.

For now, all the game does is fill 1 of 4 squares in the middle of the screen. After hitting the space bar to begin, the player hits the Up arrow and fills the corresponding square at the top of the screen. Then the program fills a different square in the center and the user moves it to the top. The process repeats until all 4 upper squares are filled.

After the 4 upper squares are filled, the middle squares are supposed to be empty, but the previously filled square doesn't clear and I don't know why. I have debugging code to show which of the center (C1, C2..) and upper squares (U1, U2...) are filled. Why does the last center square not clear?

Disclaimer: I am a novice programmer and I know I don't follow the best programming practices.

Thanks for looking.

Bill

Graphics 800,600

Global i=0:Int
Global C1=0:Int
Global C2=0:Int
Global C3=0:Int
Global C4=0:Int
Global U1=0:Int
Global U2=0:Int
Global U3=0:Int
Global U4=0:Int
Global CU1=0:Int 
Global CU2=0:Int
Global CU3=0:Int
Global CU4=0:Int
Global Arrow:String=""
Global PickedNumber=0:Int
Global StartGame=0:Int
Global PlayerMove=0:Int 'this is changed to 1 once the player hits an arrow key.  It is changed back to 0 once the squares are moved.
Global CenterInPlay=0:Int 'if box in center is filled, don't call PickCenterSquare

SeedRnd MilliSecs ()

Function PickCenterSquare()
	Local TestNum=0:Int

While TestNum=0

PickedNumber=Rand(1,4)
			Select PickedNumber
				Case 1
					If U1=0 Then
							C1=1
							TestNum=1
					End If
				Case 2
					If U2=0 Then
							C2=1
							TestNum=1
					End If
				Case 3
					If U3=0 Then
							C3=1
							TestNum=1
					End If
				Case 4
					If U4=0 Then
						C4=1
						TestNum=1
					End If
			End Select	

Wend

Return

End Function

Function HitArrow()
	If Arrow = "U" Then