first frame of sequence not displaying with Flip 1

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/first frame of sequence not displaying with Flip 1

GreenVertical(Posted 2013) [#1]
Hi
I am fairly new to blitzmax and still finding my feet. I am having a bit of an issue with my code in that the first drawn frame is never shown on screen. The issue only occurs when I use Flip 1 (it draws all the frames when Flip 0 or Flip -1 is used). I must be misunderstanding something about the way Flip 1 works but I don't understand why this should make a difference in this case?

I have given a highly simplified minimal example of my code below to illustrate the problem I am having....

The code is meant to show three things in succession. With this code the red rectangle is never drawn but the green and blue rects are. With Flip set to 0 -all three are seen. I get the same behaviour on both my computers so I don't think it is a graphics card issue. Is the first 'flip' never actually rendered when you use Flip 1?
many thanks in advance.

GreenVertical

Floyd(Posted 2013) [#2]
I can't tell you why this is happening, but a workaround seems simple enough. If you want to use Flip 1 then throw in a superfluous one at the start.

Graphics 800,600,0,10 

Flip 1

For frame=1 To 3
Cls
	Select frame
	Case 1
		SetColor(255,0,0) 'red
		DrawRect(100,100,80,20)
	Case 2
		SetColor(0,255,0) 'green
		DrawRect(300,100,80,20)
	Case 3
		SetColor(0,0,255) 'blue
		DrawRect(500,100,80,20)
	End Select
	Flip 1
	Delay 1000
Next
End

Midimaster(Posted 2013) [#3]
This is not the style FLIPs are used in games, better do this:

Graphics 800,600,0,10 
FPS%=CreateTimer(60)
FrameTime%=0
Repeat
	If FrameTime<Millisecs()
		FrameTime=Millisecs()
		frame=frame+1
	Endif
	Cls
	Select frame
		Case 1
			SetColor(255,0,0) 'red
			DrawRect(100,100,80,20)
		Case 2
			SetColor(0,255,0) 'green
			DrawRect(300,100,80,20)
		Case 3
			SetColor(0,0,255) 'blue
			DrawRect(500,100,80,20)
		case 4
			End
		End Select
	Flip 0