Blitz Object Question

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Userlibs/Blitz Object Question

Knight #51(Posted 2010) [#1]
Hey guys, I'm relatively new to making Blitz3D userlibs and I'm stuck. Is it possible to modify a field in a Blitz type by passing the object through a function parameter? Possibly as a "void*" datatype?

Last edited 2010

Last edited 2010

Yasha(Posted 2010) [#2]
Yes.

Blitz .decls files can declare parameters to have one of four types: %, #, $ (same as internal B3D), and *, which is a void pointer. The pointer parameter is dereferenced before it's passed to the userlib, so it has to be a valid bank handle, or a type object other than Null; otherwise the program will crash (those are managed as double pointers). The userlib then receives a pointer to the start of the object as you might use normally in C. You may not return a pointer from a userlib function.

In general the structure of a Blitz Type is equivalent to a C struct of the same pattern (I have had success with GCC and TCC; although as far as I'm aware C compilers are actually allowed by the standard to shuffle the fields around so this may not work in others?). Ints and floats will work without any issue; type pointers however are doubly indirect as they are in B3D proper and need to be dereferenced once before use as a normal object pointer. B3D strings are objects, not C strings, and are also garbage-collected (honestly I would strongly advise staying away from modifying B3D strings directly - better to pass them to the userlib separately, whereupon they get converted to C strings).

Last edited 2010

Knight #51(Posted 2010) [#3]
Okay, thanks. So once you have passed the object to the function, how do you reference it or modify its members?

Last edited 2010

Yasha(Posted 2010) [#4]
Here's an example. B3D:
Type myBlitzType
    Field a%
    Field b#
    Field c.myBlitzType
    field d%[10]
End Type

Local obj.myBlitzType = New myBlitzType
obj\a = 42
obj\b = 47.47
obj\c = New myBlitzType