ODE Problem

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Userlibs/ODE Problem

jfk EO-11110(Posted 2007) [#1]
I'm just beginning with ODE, currently using DC's wrapper/samples release. In my scene there's some kind of pendulum that may be pushed. This works well so far, there's only one problem: The pendulum is swinging way too long time. What I needed was some kind of soft brake that would stop it earlier. Probably it has something to do with axial friction ?

The function is using ODE_dJointCreateBall() and ODE_dJointAttach to link the parts of the pendulum. How to make this stop swinging earlier?

Thanks.

Danny(Posted 2007) [#2]
I'm not familiar with "DC's wrapper", but I can imagine you can GET the current angular force on the pendulum as well as SET the angular force. With that you can add your own sort of dampening like this:

dampfactor# = 0.99 ; the lower the value, the more/quicker it will slow down
force# = GetangularForce#(pendulum)
force# = force# * dampfactor#
SetAngularForce pendulum, force#

if you drift my catch...

d.

jfk EO-11110(Posted 2007) [#3]
Thanks. I see there's ODE_dBodyGetForceX and ODE_dBodyGetTorqueX/y/z, probably they would work for something like what you said.

Although, I would rather like a global setting command, like
ODE_dSetBounce() etc. There's a group of global settings commands, I just don't know which one and what parameters.

jfk EO-11110(Posted 2007) [#4]
ah.. right from the ode wiki thingy page FAQ:
"# 3.16 How do I stop things from rolling off into infinity, or pendulums from swinging forever?": click here

So it seems your suggestion is the only way to solve the problem :/ I just tried this with getForce as well as with GetTorque, but for some scary reason there's absolutely no reaction.

I am using in 2 nested FOR loops (x and y):

pm2.PhysicMesh = Object.PhysicMesh(towelSeg(x,y))
xforce#=-ODE_dGetBodyForceX#(pm2\body)*0.01
the same for y and z
ODE_dBodyAddForce(pm2\body, xforce, yforce, zforce)

Is there anything missing?

EDIT