Render tweening and stutter/jerkiness

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Render tweening and stutter/jerkiness

Yasha(Posted 2011) [#1]
So, I have an embarrassingly n00bish question...

Who here is using render tweening? Of those, who has managed to get it to work as advertised and provide "silky smooth" screen updates? 'Cause I'm having difficulty with this.

The first thing I tried is the castle demo in Samples\mak. It seems like an odd choice for a demo of something supposed to smooth updates, because I found it actually really jerky: once every second (it's quite regular) the demo seems to skip a frame and jerk to the next position. It's unsettling and gives me a headache; certainly not an appropriate effect for a released product!

I've played with the samples a lot over the years, so I re-downloaded it, just to be sure; the stutter definitely appears in Mark's original version. It's not easy to spot (but still present) in windowed mode, but in fullscreen it's quite obvious.

Anyway, I never used that code as it didn't quite suit my purposes. I came up with a slightly different version, based on the famous Fix Your Timestep! article (chopped this out of the middle of my program):

Local renderTime = Floor(1000.0 / ProgSettings\DrawRate), updateTime# = 1000.0 / ProgSettings\UpdateRate
Local cTime = MilliSecs(), accum#;, limited = True
Local ShowDebugInfo = False, FPScount, FPStime, FPSframes		;Debug info

Global RenderTween# = 1.0		;Global for reasons not shown here

While Not KeyDown(1)		;Outermost main loop - rendering and all secondary functions
	accum = accum + (MilliSecs() - cTime)		;Accumulator for update loop
	cTime = MilliSecs()		;"Official" start of loop

;[Block] Update loop (for render tweening) - all movement, input and update happens within this one
	While accum >= updateTime
		CaptureWorld

;Place updates here

accum = accum - updateTime
	Wend
	RenderTween = accum / updateTime		;[End block]

;Draw everything that needs drawing (mostly 2D stuff)