cars ai

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/cars ai

Charrua(Posted 2010) [#1]
Hi

I have been playing with beziers, jv-ode, cars, tracks and some basic ai for them.

http://sites.google.com/site/odriozolajuanignacio/carsAI.zip

there are 2 executables, one for race and other for edit the tracks to play with.

some screen shoots:

the tracks definition file:
http://sites.google.com/site/odriozolajuanignacio/tracks.dat

the race.bb source:
http://sites.google.com/site/odriozolajuanignacio/autos_v_08.bb

the EditTrack source:
http://sites.google.com/site/odriozolajuanignacio/EditTrack2.bb

i'm not an expert on this subjects but my intention is to start a thread to talk about race ai, cars ai and the like.

best regards

Juan

_PJ_(Posted 2010) [#2]
I 'm certainly no expert either, and forgive me for not yet looking over your code, but jsut as a general approach, I would make use of some form of waypoints along the track which the AI cars would aim for, with perhaps some preventative code which ensures they don't cut across the corners bt try to stay on the track.

What's more 'interesting', perhaps, is dealing with more specific AI instances with regards to how the cars deal with racing. For example, how do they deal with overtaking, or when needing to decelerate for turns etc.
I don't have any specific suggestions for this, but definitely worth consideration.

Lastly, with all that taken into account, the general 'problem' would be that all the AI cars behave in a very similar way. This is something that I personally feel is a little 'outdated' when it comes to racing games, and that AI cars (drivers) ought to have more distinct 'personalities'.
Some of this distinctiveness may come from the car itself, i.e. different specs. But it's nice to see, say, one particular car (driver) will race more aggressively or something.

Charrua(Posted 2010) [#3]
i agree with all you say.

at this stage, the ai inplemented shoul be called a (with out i)