dds MAV

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/dds MAV

Oiduts Studios(Posted 2010) [#1]
I have never used dds textures before. I am trying to have palm trees in my game with alpha on them. I was looking trough the forums and found out that dds was fast an loaded directly to your vram. For some reason when I try to apply the texture with entitytexture, it MAVs. Is there some other way to load these or apply these? I exported the texture in gimp 2.0 with DXT5, i found that in the forums.

Note : I am updated to version 1.103 and I know dds works on my PC because I can run Blitzsky which used dds textures.

EDIT : The loaded texture is reported as 0

Dreamora(Posted 2010) [#2]
sure its exported as DXT5 not DXT5NM

Oiduts Studios(Posted 2010) [#3]
Uh, I do not understand... The options for export through gimp are...
under COMPRESSION:
-BC1/DXT1
-BC2/DXT3
-BC3/DXT5
-BC3n/DXT5n
-BC4/ATI1
-BC5/ATI2
-Alpha Exponent(DXT5)
-YCoCg(DXT5)
-YCoCg scaled(DXT5)

If you need more information please ask.
Thank you for your help

Oiduts Studios(Posted 2010) [#4]
Well I got it to work, I cant believe I overlooked the attributes, they were not in multiples of 4. Well I have another problem, the texture that I applied to it in blitz doesn't line up with the UV map I set up in AC3D. Is there a way to apply an alpha dds to an object with UV coordinates that were already set in a third party program?

Gabriel(Posted 2010) [#5]
Well I got it to work, I cant believe I overlooked the attributes, they were not in multiples of 4.

In addition to being multiples of 4, the width and height should also be powers of 2. They will be converted to powers of 2 anyway, so you may as well get them right from the start.

This may well (but also may not) be related to your UV problem.

Oiduts Studios(Posted 2010) [#6]