Speed question regarding Banks

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Speed question regarding Banks

Kryzon(Posted 2009) [#1]
Is it faster to store and retrieve values from Blitz banks rather than...

1) Blitz variables?

2) Type fields?

3) Arrays?

_PJ_(Posted 2009) [#2]
I'm not an expert, and this is really speculation, but I feel confident :)

Aside from handles and strings so on, the actual process is equivalent, providing you are peeking / poking the right format. I would guess that on compilation, the effect is the same, values are popped and pushed off the stack. What IS crucial with respect top overheads ehre, is the size of the stack - large numbers of local variabels etc. would increase the stack considerably, so if you can Peek or Poke the exact locations efficiently and in an ordered manner, you can incresae the speed.

Yasha(Posted 2009) [#3]
....Unfortunately for Malice, he's wrong.

All three methods are faster than banks. Variables and []-arrays are both located on the stack and are lightning fast (this is why it won't let you re-size or return []-arrays). ()-arrays are ever so slightly slower, but the difference is pretty much negligible and small enough to be cancelled out by the extra multiplication and addition operation you need if you intend to simulate multiple dimensions in a []-array. Type objects aren't stack allocated, and obviously there's an extra operation to dereference the field pointer, so they're slightly slower than plain variables as well, but not by very much - not enough that most people notice.