Texture Splatting using a DLL?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Texture Splatting using a DLL?

Kryzon(Posted 2009) [#1]
Has anybody succeded in doing texture splatting using a DLL, like Tom Speed's?

It gives out SetTextureStageState function but doesn't provide a SetTexture function so that we can specify what texture do we use. I have no C++ knowledge so I wouldn't even dare to make a DLL to cover that up.

PS: The texture splatting method I'm refering to is the one that binds the diffuse map with an external alpha map that you would supply, instead of using the one directly from the diffuse map.

Kryzon(Posted 2009) [#2]
Basically, it would be these same steps:

// Alphamap: take the alpha from the alphamap, we don't care about the color
g_Direct3DDevice->SetTextureStageState(0, D3DTSS_ALPHAOP, D3DTOP_SELECTARG1);
g_Direct3DDevice->SetTextureStageState(0, D3DTSS_ALPHAARG1, D3DTA_TEXTURE);

// Texture: take the color from the texture, take the alpha from the previous stage
g_Direct3DDevice->SetTextureStageState(1, D3DTSS_COLOROP, D3DTOP_SELECTARG1);
g_Direct3DDevice->SetTextureStageState(1, D3DTSS_COLORARG1, D3DTA_TEXTURE);
g_Direct3DDevice->SetTextureStageState(1, D3DTSS_ALPHAOP, D3DTOP_SELECTARG1);
g_Direct3DDevice->SetTextureStageState(1, D3DTSS_ALPHAARG1, D3DTA_CURRENT);

g_Direct3DDevice->SetTexture(0, g_Alphamap);
g_Direct3DDevice->SetTexture(1, g_Texture);

g_Direct3DDevice->DrawPrimitiveUP(D3DPT_TRIANGLESTRIP, 2, g_Vertices, sizeof(QuadVertex));

Is there any way to do this with Tom's DLL? (except the rendering part, which would be the RenderWorld)

MikhailV(Posted 2009) [#3]
See FastExt library and FastExt_Example_TextureBlends.bb example.

Ross C(Posted 2009) [#4]
Texture splatting?

Beaker(Posted 2009) [#5]
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Texture_splatting :)

MikhailV(Posted 2009) [#6]
You can use texture splatting with FastExt without problems. What for again to invent a "bicycle"? :)

Ross C(Posted 2009) [#7]
Ah right, gotcha. Excuse the laziness :P