Alpha channel problem

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Alpha channel problem

Brad Davis(Posted 2009) [#1]
Hello everyone, I am new to Blitz3D. I have been using DarkBasic Pro but have decided to try this product instead. I have been building a scene that contains a plane for the terrain with sections of it transparent. It is a TGA (Targa) file. It is part of the world model I created that is a .X file being loaded for my scene. However, the transparent part is not working in Blitz3D. Should I be using a different file format (instead of TGA)?

Also, RGB(0,0,0) is treated as transparent in DBP, so I use RGB(1,1,1) to prevent transparency on entities that need to appear as black. What would be the rule in Blitz3D for the color?

FlagDKT(Posted 2009) [#2]
I don't use .X format
It depends on the parameters you apply to the material rather than the type of image you import.
Play with:

EntityFX()
TextureFilter()
TextureBlend()

Btw u better use the .b3d exporter
http://www.onigirl.com/pipeline/

Brad Davis(Posted 2009) [#3]
Thanks I'll check it out. I'm actually using a product called 'AC3D' to create the world. It exports to a variety of formats, but not B3D. It's much easier than 3dsMax (I have version 9).

Ross C(Posted 2009) [#4]
Make sure the texture is being loaded with the alpha flag too. Black is generally treated as alphaed or masked areas is blitz, upon loading a texture with no alpha information. You can change the colour of the mask or alpha on a texture, in blitz though.

Brad Davis(Posted 2009) [#5]
Thanks Ross.. I explore the other ways to create the alpha channel. I'm using .PNG and .TGA for my output texture from Photoshop. But, not getting the result I want in Blitz, but I am in AC3D.

jfk EO-11110(Posted 2009) [#6]
For masked textures you best use the fileformat DDS/DXT5, there are export plugins for ps and gimp. It interpolates the outline, where masked BMPs etc simply follow the texel contours, kind of stairs onscreen.