Adding touchlines to a sports field

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Adding touchlines to a sports field

Fry Crayola(Posted 2009) [#1]
I have a flat rectangle, composed of two triangles, which I use as the surface of a football field. It's textured using a grass texture.

I want to add the line markings to this, and I'm not entirely sure of the best way to go about it. This is my first time really fiddling about with 3D so it's all new to me.

I'd rather not just have the mesh created and textured, because different pitches can be different sizes and I'd like to cater for that rather than having every pitch be a uniform size. So the problem is - given a textured rectangular surface, how would I go about adding touchlines etc. to this?

Thanks

Ginger Tea(Posted 2009) [#2]
i thought all football feilds were the same size, regardless of being american football or soccer (football to the rest of the world)
some of the strips of grass may be bigger than others perhaps to cater for other sports but the playing filed would be the same

if you are thinking of making different sized pitches for 'official' team stadiums then stop right there EA beat you to the licence of team name/logo's/players/stadium names and shapes for the NFL american football and whomever for football football

just stick to the basics

an american football field is measured in yards and is iir 100 yards long from end zone to end zone or 120 including i forget and whatever yards long regardless of which stadium its in
so get your grid set up that way, scale the players appropriatly and all will be peachy so long as it feels like you are moving one yard not 10 in each step

and a football field should be standard across the board unless its just a kick about jumpers for goalposts kinda thing

Ginger Tea(Posted 2009) [#3]