Blitz's TCP idles very long before sending data...

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Blitz's TCP idles very long before sending data...

bytecode77(Posted 2008) [#1]
ever since i started programming with blitz TCP, i got the problem.
my server sends a data package with 3 bytes in total and waits for the client to respond.
but the client gets these 3 bytes delayed approximately 50 ms later, because the Blitz TCP engine is sending these bytes with a delay...
which makes the whole app useless :(

i think it's because TCP collects data until a packet of a certain size is full. this certain size seems to me more than 3 bytes...

is there anyone who can help me?
thanks.

nawi(Posted 2008) [#2]
Well, an obvious hack is to send a larger packet.

bytecode77(Posted 2008) [#3]
my packet is exactly 3 bytes. how large should i make it? does it depend on the router or is it a fixed size?
but this just isn't it... a proper solution would be to just send it out using some sort of windows command, hmm?

Rroff(Posted 2008) [#4]
Can you not use UDP? TCP has never really been for time critical applications...

bytecode77(Posted 2008) [#5]
i'm coding a multi-PC raytracer. so with UDP i get problems because once even one packet is missing, everything stops working...

Ross C(Posted 2008) [#6]
Resend if the packet goes missing then. Tag each packet with an unique number. When your code on the other side receives a packet, then send back a confirmation packet. If the sending side doesn't receive a confirmation, resend the packet again.

bytecode77(Posted 2008) [#7]
i think tcp is fast enough and i don't want any UDP bugs here...
there must be a function in some library to send the TCP packet without waiting until it's full...

Wings(Posted 2008) [#8]
As an Blitz3d TCP coder send 2004 i am looking into this.. i will prove every one wrong here as usual. by using my knowlage :)

Stay tooned for my answare will come this wekend.

Wings(Posted 2008) [#9]